History of Mayflower Cemetery
(Located on Tremont Street, Rte. 3A)
The largest cemetery in Duxbury, Mayflower Cemetery so named for the ship that brought the Pilgrims to the New World, has over 40 acres of viable cemetery grounds and over 35 acres awaiting future development.
With its massive oak trees Mayflower Cemetery is adjacent to the First Parish Church, Unitarian, the Church was built in 1840 and was used as the third and fourth Meeting House before being used as an official house of worship.
The first grave was that of Stephen Russell in 1787, with his burial the Cemetery was established. In 1894 Town Meeting voted to assume the obligation for maintaining the 4 cemeteries which now include both the Smith and Weston Tombs and to establish standards of beauty and decency. In the same year the town elected its first Board of Cemetery Trustees which comprised of 5 citizens to be responsible for the care and maintenance of the cemeteries.
The main entrance to the cemetery grounds has two Quincy granite posts on either side, these beautiful columns and the spheres that rest atop the posts were a gift from Mr. & Mrs. Ernest H. Bailey both descendants of the passengers on the Mayflower and were erected in 1927. This same year also saw a gift from Lucy Hathaway in memory of her mother, father and sister, Ms. Hathaway donated the fencing of granite and iron that begins to the left of the entrance and runs down 3A to Mayflower Street.
Mayflower Cemetery is a viable cemetery opened year round from dawn to dusk, a showcase of historical monuments and a resting place to Revolutionary and Civil War Veterans, including descendents of those early settlers who traveled on the ship the Mayflower and to those who contributed such a vital part in establishing the Town of Duxbury.